National Teams
National beach volleyball squads announced for 2024 

National beach volleyball squads announced for 2024 

Volleyball Australia is pleased to announce the players named in the Beach Volleyroos and Developing Beach Volleyroos squads for 2024.

The Beach Volleyroos squads remain the same as last year with Olympic silver medallists Mariafe Artacho del Solar and Taliqua Clancy joined by Commonwealth Games gold medallists Chris McHugh and Paul Burnett, Asian Champions Thomas Hodges and Zachery Schubert along with last week’s Australian Beach Volleyball Tour winners Izac Carracher and  Mark Nicolaidis.

There are 10 players in the Men’s Developing Beach Volleyroos squad including newcomers Jed Walker and Luke Ryan – who won the Australian Junior Beach Volleyball Tour event in Cobram on Tuesday along with Harley Sinclair, and Tom Smith who is on a three-month training scholarship.

Seven players in the Women’s Developing Beach Volleyroos are back in the squad, joined by Commonwealth Youth Games silver medallist Jasmine Rayner (pictured).

“The depth of the playing group in the Beach Volleyroos and Developing Beach Volleyroos is extremely strong right now,” said Craig Marshall, Volleyball Australia National Performance Director. “All eight players in the Beach Volleyroos squad are making an impact internationally, and as it is an important Olympic year we are striving for even bigger growth and improvement.

“We have a real range of experience in the Developing Beach Volleyroos squad, from players on the cusp of Beach Pro Tour Challenge events to those who we hope to see moving through Futures tournaments as well.

“The five new players in the Developing Beach Volleyroos squads have settled in well over the last month, and their performances at the Australian Beach Volleyball Tour in Cobram are evidence already that training in a professional environment is greatly benefiting them.”

Players in the Developing Beach Volleyroos squad will next take to the court at the end of the month when the Australian Beach Volleyball Tour lands in Mollymook on the NSW South Coast, while the Beach Volleyroos begin their Beach Pro Tour campaigns next month.

2024 Beach Volleyroos Squad
Men: Paul Burnett, Izac Carracher, Thomas Hodges, Chris McHugh, Mark Nicolaidis, Zachery Schubert
Women: Mariafe Artacho del Solar, Taliqua Clancy

2024 Developing Beach Volleyroos Squad
Men: Solomon Bushby, Ben Hood, Joshua Howat, Jack Pearse, D’Artagnan Potts, Luke Ryan*, Harley Sinclair*, Tom Smith*, James Takken, Jed Walker*
Women: Elizabeth Alchin, Stefanie Fejes, Jasmine Fleming, Georgia Johnson, Jana Milutinovic, Kayla Mears, Tara Phillips, Jasmine Rayner* 

* denotes new to squad

Tags :

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *