National Teams
National Under 16 teams announced for AVC Volleyball Championships

National Under 16 teams announced for AVC Volleyball Championships

The Australian Under 16 Volleyball teams have been announced, with the teams set to compete in the Asian Volleyball Confederation (AVC) U16 Volleyball Championships later this year.

These are the inaugural U16 Asian Championships after the announcement late last year from FIVB of the introduction of the U17 World Championships in 2024. This Championship event serves as the Asian Volleyball Confederation qualifier for the 2024 U17 World Volleyball Championships.

Selected athletes were identified from Volleyball Australia competitions, Australian Youth Volleyball Championships, Australian Volleyball Schools Cup and participation in National Development Program (NDP) Camps.

“The Asian Championships will enable these athletes to gain valuable experience to how the game is played internationally in the Asian region,” said Myles Roantree, Volleyball Australia High Performance Program Coordinator.

“For most of the athletes this will give them their first taste of international competition which will serve them well as they begin their journey on the Volleyball Australia Athlete Pathway.”

Athletes will represent their states at the School Sport Australia Championships in Canberra at the beginning of June before the squads come together for a pre-tournament camp at the Australian Institute of Sport. 

The women’s event will be held from 1 to 8 July in Hangzhou, China while the men’s event is in Tashkent, Uzbekistan from 22-29 July.

Australian Women’s U16 Team
Sienna Arthur (QLD)
Allegra Conlon (QLD)
Lily Fox (QLD)
Ava Gaborit (SA)
Jiayuan (Chloe) Gu (NSW)
Lillian Kelly (QLD)
Greta King (QLD)
Florence Liu (QLD)
Maeve McCowen (QLD)
Eva Perovic (VIC)
Annabelle Ryan (QLD)
Ruby Smith (VIC)

Head Coach: Rachael Georgieff (QLD)
Coach: Peter Giannes (SA)
Physio/Coach: Rebecca Redgen (QLD)
Manager: Myles Roantree (ACT)

Australian Men’s U16 Team
Hayden Baker (WA)
Levi Beard (ACT)
Tom Bergemann (QLD)
Tate Brown (VIC)
Josh Elson (QLD)
Ben Fourie (WA)
Ethan Grocott (QLD)
Joshua Harris (WA)
Ashton Home (VIC)
Mingyuan (Eddie) Li (QLD)
Seth Woolgar (QLD)
Andy Zhang (NSW)

Head Coach: Adrien Ickowicz (TAS)
Coach: Lauren Wann (QLD)
Physio/Coach: TBC
Manager: Luke Seib (NT)

NOTE: Images used are of participants in the Volleyball Australia U16 Selection Camp

Tags :

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *