Volleyball Australia Announces Academy Selections For 2024

Volleyball Australia Announces Academy Selections For 2024

Thirty athletes from around the country have been selected for the 2024 Australian Volleyball Academy (AVA).

A development program for both beach and indoor volleyball, the AVA is hosted at the Australian Institute of Sport in Canberra.

The AVA is a key component of Volleyball Australia’s National Development Program and allows athletes to learn and develop in a sport-specific training environment as they look to take the next step in their careers.

This year’s intake sees numbers equalise across the program. Six new athletes are set to join the eight returning in the men’s program, while 10 women will join the five second-year athletes to make a 15-strong group.

Paul Smith, National Pathways Manager and AVA Program Director, says the program is continuing to see success in developing talented athletes competing on the domestic circuit and preparing them for the senior international level.

“Volleyball Australia congratulates the exceptional athletes selected for the 2024 Australian Volleyball Academy,” said Smith.

“The AVA’s holistic approach to athlete development, encompassing technical skill and personal growth, aims to nurture well-rounded individuals capable of success on and off the court. 

“We are excited to see these athletes progress through the program as they strive for excellence in both beach and indoor volleyball,” he said.

Volleyball Australia congratulates the following athletes and welcomes them to the 2024 Australian Volleyball Academy.

*New AVA athlete

Jarvis PageNSWTully BewWA
Tim EbbsNSWAlexia ZammitWA
Will KayVICJosephine FosterQLD
Samuel KayVICChloe WalkerQLD
Steven YaradNSWCate Smith*VIC
Jamie Fouche*QLDMilla Smith*VIC
Xander van DrielQLDGeorgina Vanloo*SA
Thomas MckinneyQLDTandia BriggsQLD
Mitchell CroftVICKayla Cantrill*QLD
Jack Renner*QLDMali Towers*NSW
Dan Moisescu*ACTGemma McNamara*VIC
Benjamin Larsen*QLDChelsea Durbridge*SA
Hayden Baker*WAIsabella Simurina*NSW
Joshua Hodder*VICLana Hollway*SA
Genevieve D’Arcy*QLD
Tags :

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *